Jodie Quinn Nominated for 2022 AJHL Executive of the Year Award

Jodie Quinn (center) surrounded by Bulldogs. (Photo: Bryan Wilson)

Blackfalds Bulldogs co-owner, Jodie Quinn, has been nominated for the Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) 2022 Ken Bracko Award for AJHL Executive of the Year.

According to the league, the goal of the award is to recognize an individual who demonstrates outstanding commitment, guidance and support to their franchise. Nominees for the awards shall:

  • Display leadership at a team, community and league level
  • Support the AJHL and its members’ initiatives, programs and strategies
  • Exhibit dedication and service well beyond what is expected
  • Serve as a Board Member within the member club, including those serving as Governor and President

As an expansion team in its inaugural season, the Blackfalds Bulldogs made a strong statement to the rest of the league in 2021-22 about the clubs’ commitment to strengthening local community relationships, establishing new charitable and youth initiatives and, of course, icing a competitive hockey team. 

While Quinn is the first to highlight the efforts of Bulldogs’ coaches, players and staff for the organization’s successful first year, her tireless efforts and abundant enthusiasm throughout the season helped set the tone internally and led to the implementation of numerous community programs, including the Bulldogs Foundation, which was actively involved in the local community all season long.

Quinn’s impact this season was summed up precisely by Blackfalds Bulldogs Governor, David Leonard, in an official nomination to the AJHL.

“Central Alberta has a population of more than 240,000 people and through Jodie’s creative thinking and marketing prowess the Bulldog’s organization was able to increase the exposure for the AJHL and its members,” Leonard expressed. “In their inaugural season, Jodie was able to achieve corporate sponsorships in excess of $475,000; the Bulldog’s attendance numbers ranked 7 out of 16 teams at December 31, 2021; the Bulldog’s Foundation raised over $21,000 for Central Alberta Charities and it ran several unique programs such as the P.U.G (Pick Up Grades) – this program recognized Grade 6-9 students for showing emotional, social and academic growth over a 3 month period.”

The following are the 2022 Nominees for the Ken Bracko Award for AJHL Executive of the Year:

  • Jodie Quinn – Blackfalds Bulldogs
  • Cindy Waronek – Drayton Valley Thunder
  • David Fitzgerald – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
  • Glenn ‘Otis’ Rusling – Lloydminster Bobcats

Internal league voting will end on April 29, 2022 and the winner should be announced later in the offseason. 

Article by Bryan Wilson.

Leave a Reply